5 Pillars Of Islam

Islam five pillars - Pillars Of Islam - Profession of Faith (shahada) - Prayer (salat) - Alms (zakat) - Fasting (sawm) - Pilgrimage (hajj) - Pillars of Faith in Islam

5 Pillars Of Islam

The Prophet (S.A.W) has said, “Islam is based upon five pillars” these being:

  • The First Pillar: Reciting the Shahadah (Declaration of Faith):
    To become a Muslim you have to firmly believe in your heart and declare the Kalima Shahadah by tongue. The translation which means that there is no God but Allah (S.W.T), Muhammed (S.A.W) is the Final Messenger of Allah (S.W.T). The Profession of Faith, the shahada, is the most fundamental expression of Islamic beliefs. It simply states that “There is no God but God and Muhammad is his prophet.” It underscores the monotheistic nature of Islam. It is an extremely popular phrase in Arabic calligraphy and appears in numerous manuscripts and religious buildings.


  • The Second Pillar: Salat (Performing of Prayer):
    Prayer is the most essential obligatory duty which a Muslim must perform. Salat is a means of remembering Allah (S.W.T). There are 5 daily prayers. Muslims are expected to pray five times a day. This does not mean that they need to attend a mosque to pray; rather, the salat, or the daily prayer, should be recited five times a day. Muslims can pray anywhere; however, they are meant to pray towards Mecca. The faithful pray by bowing several times while standing and then kneeling and touching the ground or prayer mat with their foreheads, as a symbol of their reverence and submission to Allah. On Friday, many Muslims attend a mosque near midday to pray and to listen to a sermon, khutba.


  • The Third Pillar: Zakat (Charity/ Alms Giving):
    Zakat is an annual payment made so that that a wealth of a person may be purified. Zakat becomes due on savings which have been kept for a year. 2.5% of the total money is given to those who are poor and needy. The giving of alms is the third pillar. Although not defined in the Qu’ran, Muslims believe that they are meant to share their wealth with those less fortunate in their community of believers.


  • The Forth Pillar: Sawm (Fasting in the month of Ramadan):
    Fasting is to refrain from eating, drinking and sexual act from dawn to sunset. During the holy month of Ramadan, the ninth month in the Islamic calendar, Muslims are expected to fast from dawn to dusk. While there are exceptions made for the sick, elderly, and pregnant, all are expected to refrain from eating and drinking during daylight hours.


  • The Fifth Pillar: Hajj (Pilgrimage to the holy land of Mecca):
    It is compulsory on Muslims who can afford the expenses and are physically able to undertake the journey. It is obligatory only once in a Muslim’s life. All Muslims who are able are required to make the pilgrimage to Mecca and the surrounding holy sites at least once in their lives. Pilgrimage focuses on visiting the Kaaba and walking around it seven times. Pilgrimage occurs in the 12th month of the Islamic Calendar.
Five pillars of Islam
5 pillars of Islam